Richard Driscoll Memorial Award


Inaugural Richard Driscoll Memorial Awards 2018 candidates announced

The Richard Driscoll Memorial Award was established in 2018 to commemorate our former Chair of the Board of Trustees who passed away in 2017.  Richard worked tirelessly and selflessly throughout his life serving for a number of charitable organisations including the British Society of Gastroenterology, Crohn’s and Colitis UK and the UK IBD Registry. Richard was passionate as a patient representative of National Voices and chair of HQIP and was greatly admired by those who saw his contributions to the organisation.

The award was set up to recognise patient and public involvement in clinical audit and the inaugural award took place on 11 October 2018.

2018 Award

Winner: Epilepsy12

Richard Driscoll Award 2018

The winner of the first edition of the Richard Driscoll Memorial Award was Epilepsy12, one of 40 national clinical audits and patient outcome reviews commissioned by HQIP and funded by NHS England, and was formally awarded first place for outstanding patient involvement in clinical audit.

Epilepsy 12 case study 2018Led by the Royal College of Paediatrics and Child Health (RCPCH) and established in 2009, Epilepsy12 measures and aims to improve NHS healthcare services for children and young people with seizures and epilepsy.

Between April and June 2018 the RCPCH Children and Young People’s Engagement Team met with over 130 children, young people and families collecting their views on ‘service contact ability’ and family mental health. Over 2335 questionnaires were submitted by children, young people and their carers.

Dame Donna Kinnair, Chair of the HQIP Board of Trustees and long-standing CEO of the Royal College of Nursing presented the award to Epilepsy12 project manager Calvin Down and the programme’s youth advocates in front of an audience of healthcare professionals, HQIP Trustees and staff.

The following submissions were also highly commended:

The other submissions for the award were:

The first edition of the award was a huge success and we look forward to holding the next edition in 2019. Please check this page for all future updates.