Audit Heroes Hall of Fame 2020

CAAW20 Hall of Fame banner


We are very pleased to reveal our Audit Heroes Hall of Fame 2020. We received a record 220+ nominations during the 2020 Audit Heroes Awards campaign from which our judging panel selected worthy winners during Clinical Audit Awareness Week, the details of which can be found on the Audit Heroes Awards page.

Like the Audit Heroes Awards, the Hall of Fame has six different categories to reflect the broad scope of hard-working individuals and teams in health and care. This includes the regular five categories along with a one-off award called the Florence Nightingale Award for outstanding contribution by a nurse or midwife). These can be accessed by clicking on the category rows below.

Once again, the standard of entries was very high this year and we’d like to congratulate all of the individuals and teams who were shortlisted and made it into our Hall of Fame.

Clinical Audit Professional of the Year

Ben Woodhart

Ben Woodhart


The London Ambulance Service

Bob Redfern

Bob Redfern – Physical Health/SMI Lead


Tees, Esk and Wear Valleys NHS Foundation Trust

Brid Kelly

Brid Kelly – Practice Audit and Clinical Effectiveness Manager


Hertfordshire Partnership University NHS Foundation Trust

Catherine Truesdale

Catherine Truesdale – Quality Manager, Performance Improvement


South Eastern Health & Social Care Trust, Northern Ireland

Heather Webb

Heather Webb – Clinical Effectiveness Manager


Worcestershire Acute NHS Trust

Joel Fiddy

Joel Fiddy – Theatre Governance and Risk Management Facilitator


Norfolk and Norwich University Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust

Maxine Helliwell

Maxine Helliwell – Clinical Audit Manager


The Mid Yorkshire Hospitals NHS Trust

Sarah Stevenson

Sarah Stevenson – Clinical Audit Facilitator


University Hospitals of Derby & Burton NHS Foundation Trust

Wendy Houweling

Wendy Houweling – Audit & Research Administrator


The Children’s Trust

Joscelin (Jos) Miles – Head of Clinical Audit and Effectiveness


Kingston Hospital NHS Foundation Trust

Sue Taylor – Senior Clinical Audit Facilitator


Kent and Medway Partnership Trust

Clinical Practitioner of the Year

Charlotte Hubbard-Thompson

Charlotte Hubbard-Thompson – Head of Integrated Sexual Health Services


Coventry & Warwickshire Partnership NHS Trust

Douglas West

Douglas West – Consultant Thoracic Surgeon


University Hospitals Bristol and Weston NHS Trust

James Nixon

Dr James Nixon – Specialty Doctor


Marie Curie Hospice, Belfast

Kirtan Patel

Dr Kirtan Patel – Surgical Registrar


Hillingdon Hospital

Liz Ewins

Dr Liz Ewins – Consultant Psychiatrist


Avon and Wiltshire Mental Health Partnership NHS Trust

Maria Georghiou

Dr Maria Georghiou – Consultant Anaesthetist


West Hertfordshire Hospitals NHS Trust

Sahana Rao

Dr Sahana Rao – Consultant Paediatrician


Oxford University Hospital NHS Foundation Trust

Sarah Bigham

Dr Sarah Bigham – Intensive Care and Anaesthesia Consultant


Royal Free London NHS Foundation Trust

Sinead Benson

Sinead Benson – Clinical Nurse Specialist


The Clatterbridge Cancer Centre

Sue Pavord

Dr Sue Pavord – Consultant Haematologist


Oxford University NHS Foundation Trust

Student of the Year

Dani Carswell

Dani Carswell – Health and Social Care Student


University of Worcester

Edward Chiu

Edward Chiu – Medical Student


Queen Victoria Hospital

Emily Kelly and Calum Lynch

Emily Kelly and Calum Lynch – Medical Students


Kings College London

George Barker

George Barker and ITU Medical Students


University College London

Lily Phillips

Lily Phillips – Student Midwife


Northampton General Hospital

Michael Ha

Michael Ha – Medical Education Student


University of Hertfordshire/East and North Hertfordshire Trust

Su Jeong and George Lin

Sue Jeong and George Lin – Medical Students


St George’s University

Volunteer of the Year

Chris Worth

Chris Worth


University Hospitals of Derby and Burton

Epilepsy12 Youth Advocates

Epilepsy12 Youth Advocates


Royal College of Paediatrics and Child Health (RCPCH)

Julia Ellis

Julia Ellis – Patient and Carer Panel Chair, Falls and Fragility Fracture Audit Programme


Royal College of Physicians (RCP)

Robert Titherley

Robert Titherley


Derbyshire Healthcare Foundation NHS Trust

Macmillan Volunteer Assessor Team

MQEM Volunteer Assessor Team


Macmillan Cancer Support

Stephanie Adeyemi

Dr Stephanie Adeyemi


East and North Hertfordshire NHS Trust

Ceridigion Total Communication Auditors

Ceredigion Total Communication Auditors


Ceredigion Council and NHS

PLACE Volunteers Team

Place Volunteers Team


Mid and South Essex NHS Foundation Trust



The Elms Sexual Assault Referral Centre

Florence Nightingale Award

Andy Brown

Andy Brown – Risk Management Midwife


Harrogate & District NHS Foundation Trust

Cheryl Grote

Cheryl Grote – Ward Sister


Essex Partnership University NHS Foundation Trust

Joanne Straw

Joanne Straw – Paediatric Liaison Nurse


Yorkshire Ambulance Service NHS Trust

Liz Raderecht

Elizabeth Raderecht – AAU Matron


Kingston Hospital NHS Foundation Trust

Lorraine Williams

Lorraine Williams – Infection Prevention & Control Nurse


East and North Hertfordshire NHS Trust

Naomi Walsh

Naomi Walsh – Lead Nurse for Practice Development


Royal Free London NHS Foundation Trust

Paula Tucker

Paula Tucker – Deputy Chief Nurse


Surrey & Sussex Healthcare NHS Trust

Philip Lort

Philip Lort – Accreditation and Assessment Lead


Gloucestershire Hospitals NHS Trust

Sarah Joseph

Sarah Joseph – Matron for Trauma and Orthopaedics


Kingston Hospital NHS Foundation Trust

Sarah Simmons and Katy Murphy

Sarah Simmons and Katy Murphy – Advanced Neonatal Nurse Practitioners


Gloucestershire Hospitals NHS FT

Team of the Year

Jane Bailey and Pia Williams

Jane Bailey and Pia Williams – Community Stroke and Neurological Rehabilitation Team


First Community Health and Care

Laura Rollings and Jodie Wilkinson

Laura Rollings and Jodie Wilkinson – Dental Services


Worcestershire Health and Care Trust

Leg Ulcer Pathway Audit Team G&ST

Leg Ulcer Pathway Audit Team


Guy’s and St. Thomas’ NHS Foundation Trust

 National Vascular Registry

National Vascular Registry Team


Royal College of Surgeons of England and others

 Safeguarding Team - Locala Community Partnerships

Safeguarding Team


Locala Community Partnerships

St Helier Hospital Intensive Care Team and Hospital Bed Management Team

Intensive Care Team and Bed Management Team


St Helier Hospital

T1D One Day Course team

Type 1 Diabetes One Day Course Pilot Team


Northern Health and Social Care Trust (NHSCT)

Oliver Fisher Neonatal Unit - Medway

The Oliver Fisher Neonatal Unit


Medway NHS Foundation Trust

Transitional Dialysis Unit (TDU), Lister Hospital

Transitional Dialysis Unit


Lister Hospital

Resuscitation Services Team


Oxford University Hospital